CompTIA Security+ Question E-87

A security administrator must implement a system that will support and enforce the following file system access control model:
Which of the following should the security administrator implement?

A. White and black listing
B. SCADA system
C. Trusted OS
D. Version control

Answer: C

A trusted operating system (TOS) is any operating system that meets the government’s requirements for security. Trusted OS uses a form of Mandatory access control called Multi-Level Security. The Mandatory access control (MAC) is a form of access control commonly employed by government and military environments. MAC specifies that access is granted based on a set of rules rather than at the discretion of a user. The rules that govern MAC are hierarchical in nature and are often called sensitivity labels, security domains, or classifications. MLS is an implementation of MAC that focuses on confidentiality. A Multi-Level Security operating system is able to enforce the separation of multiple classifications of information as well as manage multiple users with varying levels of information clearance. The military and intelligence community must handle and process various hierarchical levels of classified information. At the high-end there is Top Secret, followed in turn by Secret, Confidential, and Unclassified: